Disaster Resilience Education Tasmania (DRET) unit success criteria

By the end of this unit students and teachers should:

  • know what being disaster resilient means for individuals and communities,
  • identify local natural hazards,
  • begin to understand key concepts of prevention, preparedness, response and recovery,
  • understand how preparation, planning and emergency drills can help people to respond more safely in an emergency, and
  • know where to find information and advice to help plan and prepare for floods, storms and bushfires.

What is disaster resilience?

Disaster resilient individuals and communities understand their local hazards. They take action at home and in the community to reduce hazard impacts and prevent hazards from becoming disasters. They follow safety advice and warnings and respond safely during an emergency. After an emergency, they support each other to recover.

Hazards such as storms, floods and bushfires can have enormous social, economic and environmental impacts. With climate change, we are likely to see more frequent and intense hazard events. Building disaster resilient communities has never been more important.

What is disaster resilience education?

Disaster resilience education provides children and young people with the knowledge, skills and attitudes they need to help build resilience in their homes, schools and communities.

Children and young people are frequently overlooked when it comes to disaster resilience, but research shows that if they are provided with the necessary guidance and support, they can increase their own safety and the safety of others.

Will teaching my students about disaster resilience cause them fear or anxiety?

Learning about disaster resilience can actually reduce student fears. However, if you know of a student who has experienced a traumatic event in the past, you should follow necessary procedures to ensure that the welfare of this student is carefully considered.

DRET Unit Australian Curriculum Links

The 5 lessons of the DRET unit cover the Australian Curriculum learning areas for students, Year 5 to Year 8, in Humanities and Social Sciences, Geography, Science and Health; general capabilities of Literacy and Personal and Social Capability; and cross curriculum priority of Sustainability.

Detailed information on the DRET unit Australian Curriculum.

Scope and sequence

The attached DRET Scope and Sequence document provides the curriculum learning links, the order of the 5 lessons along with the learning intentions, concepts, assessment tasks/activities and helpful resource links.

Helpful resources